Political Science Syllabus BA (Pass Course)

(wef. academic session 2021-22)

Programme Objectives:

This programme consists of six courses: Foundations of Political Science, Indian Political Thought, Constitutionalism and Modern Representative Constitutions, Freedom Struggle and Constitution of India, Western Political Thought, International Relations and the 20th Century World History. These courses are formulated with an objective to introduce basic themes and discourses in the discipline. It is expected that the programme will ignite a sense of critical enquiry and curiosity about the political world among the students and will enable them to undertake higher studies and research.

FIRST YEAR

PAPER I

Code: 1481

Revised Syllabus

FOUNDATIONS OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

Course Objective:

The course introduces students to basic issues and concepts in the discipline. Unit I and Unit II are designed to acquaint the students with an idea of what constitutes Political Science; what are its disciplinary boundaries and what are its key concepts. The following three units are formulated with an objective to provide a fair understanding of modern nation-state, its various institutions and government types.

Unit I-

Meaning, Nature and scope of Political Science; Key Approaches and Debates- Normative, Historical and Empirical; Behaviouralism and Post-behaviouralism; Debates on Decline and Resurgence of Political Theory.

Unit II-

Concepts: Liberty, Equality, Justice, Power, Authority, Legitimacy;

Political Development and Political Decay, Political Modernisation, Political Culture, Political Socialization.

Unit III-

State: Theories of the Origin of State- Divine Origin, Social Contract and Evolutionary Theory;

Debates on Modern Nation-state-Sovereignty, Citizenship and Political Obligation.

Unit Iv-

Democracy-Participation and Representation;

Dictatorships;

Parliamentary and Presidential Systems; Federal and Unitary Systems.

Unit V-

Organs of Government- Executive, Legislature and Judiciary;

Theory of Separation of Powers and Checks and Balances; Political Parties and Pressure Groups; Civil Society and Human Rights.

References:

Heywood, Andrew (2004), *Political Theory: An Introduction*, New York: Palgrave Macmillan. Ray, Amal and Bhattacharya, Mohit (2013), *Political Theory Ideas and Institutions*: Kolkata: The World Press Pvt Ltd.

Asirvatham, A and Misra, K K (2018), *Political Theory*, New Delhi: S. Chand Publishing. Bhargava, R and Acharya, A. (eds.) (2008), *Political Theory: An Introduction*, New Delhi: Pearson.

Bellamy, R. (1993) (ed.), *Theories and Concepts of Politics*, New York: Manchester University Press.

Vincent, A. (2004), *The Nature of Political Theory*, New York: Oxford University Press. McKinnon, Catriona (2012), *Issues in Political Theory*, New York: Oxford University Press. Marsh, D. and Stoker, G. (eds.) (1995), *Theory and Methods in Political Science*. London: Macmillan.

S P, Varma (2018), Modern Political Theory, New Delhi: Vikas Publication House Pvt Ltd. गाबा, ओम प्रकाश (२०१३), राजनीति सिद्धांत की रूपरेखा, नई दिल्ली: मयूर पेपरबैक्स।

भार्गव, राजीव एवं आचार्य, अशोक (संपादक) (२०११), राजनीति सिद्धांत एक परिचय, नई दिल्ली: पीयर्सन।

डॉ श्री राम वर्मा (2018), *राजनीति विज्ञान के मूल आधार,* जयपुर: कॉलेज बुक सेंटर।