Shri Pranab Mukherjee assumed office as the 13th President of India on July 25, 2012, crowning a political career of over five decades of exemplary service to the nation in Government as well as Parliament.

Eighty-one years old, Shri Mukherjee is a man of unparalleled experience in governance with the rare distinction of having served at different times as Foreign, Defence, Commerce and Finance Minister. He was elected to the Upper House of the Parliament (Rajya Sabha) five times from 1969 and twice to the Lower House of the Parliament (Lok Sabha) from 2004. He was a member of the Congress Working Committee, the highest policy making body of the Party for a period of 23 years.


Administrative Career
Deputy Minister, Industrial Development Feb 1973 to Jan 1974
Deputy Minister, Shipping and Transport January 1974 to October 1974
Deputy Minister, Steel and Industry  
Minister of State for Finance Oct 1974 to Dec 1975
Minister of State for Revenue and Banking (Independent Charge) Dec 1975 to March 1977
Cabinet Minister of Commerce and Steel and Mines Jan 1980 to Jan 1982
Cabinet Minister of Finance Jan 1982 to Dec 1984
Additional charge of the Ministry of Commerce and Supply Sept to Dec 31, 1984
Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission June 1991 to May 1996
Cabinet Minister of Commerce Jan 1993 to Feb 1995
Cabinet Minister of External Affairs Feb 1995 to May 1996
Cabinet Minister of Defence May 2004 to 24 Oct 2006
Cabinet Minister of External Affairs Oct 2006 to May 2009
Cabinet Minister of Finance 24 Jan 2009 to 26 June 2012


Parliamentary Career
Elected to Rajya Sabha 1969, 1975, 1981, 1993, 1999
Elected to Lok Sabha 2004, 2009, upto July 2012
Deputy Leader of the Congress Party in the Rajya Sabha 1978-80
Chief Whip of Congress Party in the Rajya Sabha 1996-2004
Leader of House in the Rajya Sabha 1980-85
Member, Business Advisory Committee,
Committee on Privileges and Committee on Rules Member,
Consultative Committee on External Affairs
Chairman, Parliament Standing Committee on Science and Technology,
Environment and Forests
Chairman, Parliament Standing Committee on Home Affairs June 1998 to May 2004
Leader of the Lok Sabha June 2004 to June 2012
Mohanlal Sukhadia University
Udaipur 313001, Rajasthan, India
EPABX: 0294-2470918/ 2471035/ 2471969
Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Nodal Officer : Sh. Sanjiv Agarwal
Last Updated on : 21/07/17